Holly Jolly Holly Jolly, Oh

Music has always been a large part of my holiday.

It’s there on the radio, weeks before. It’s in the stores. It’s on TV, and YouTube. I looked up one of my seasonal favorites there, even though I own the album.

It’s called Winter Song, by Angel.  (You’ll have to look up, or imagine, the awesome video.)

I figure it’s impossible to hear every Christmas song ever recorded in just a few weeks. Some I missed, like I Believe in Father Christmas by Greg Lake, and the Eagles’ version of Please Come Home for Christmas. I’m sure I’ll hear them again.

But I did hear a few others this season. In no particular order…

Christmas Wrapping by the Waitresses. Funny lyrics, sung with attitude. “A&P has provided me with the world’s smallest turkey.”

Frosty by Jimmy Durante (“…and two eyes, made outta coal”)frostythesnowman-character

Rudolph by Burl Ives (“But do you recall, the most famous reindeer of all?”)

Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree – Brenda Lee

Father Christmas (Give Us Your Money) – The Kinks

(I would have loved to post the video here – it’s great.  But WordPress said no.)

An oddly speeded up version of Bing Crosby’s Mele Kalikimaka. (Now why would they do that?)

And that awful Paul McCartney song, you know the one. It’s the Jar-Jar Binks of Christmas tunes.

I have two Christmas CD’s in my car. One is the Peanuts soundtrack by Vince Gueraldi that almost everyone seems to have. I listened to it all the way through on a long car trip.

The other is by the Kingston Trio from 1960, called Last Month of the Year. Very good but it brings back bittersweet memories. The Trio are still around, stopped in New Hampshire last year for a show.

By now I’m a little Bing Crosby and Nat King Cole’d out, but there’s always next year.

About meremention

Resident of the Granite State, I am a freelance writer who also toils as a research analyst.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holly Jolly Holly Jolly, Oh

  1. undersquid says:

    WordPress said no? What? That’s odd. But no, actually, now you mention it, sometimes WordPress is recalcitrant to publish some youtube videos. I’m not sure what the criteria is, but that’s one of the reason I’m doing what I mentioned to you before, and collecting videos I post on my blog, directly on my youtube account. That also keeps them active, no matter what happens to the original video I copied.

    I love some of your selections. Oh. My. Glob. Can you believe this Winter Song is 100% new to me? I had never, ever heard it before. I love it! I’m going to go d/l it right now. I don’t think I’d ever even heard of Angel. I adore the Eagles, of course. I enjoy different Christmas music, and their Please Come Home for Christmas is part of my repertoire.

    George Michael’s Last Christmas is, as well. I couldn’t listen to it these last few days. Another one I don’t ever get to see live. I’m a Kinks semi-fan, but had not heard of Father Christmas. Another one to add to my download list. Thank you for that!

    I LIKE Paul McCartney’s song, you poodoobrains. But I like Jar Jar Binks. 😀 I love John Lennon’s Happy Christmas (War Is Over).

    Now that I’m into this ASMR kick, I’m thinking of whispered songs for my non-existent audience, and I’m thinking of a Christmas song for that audience. Project!

  2. meremention says:

    Glad you liked the Angel song, I think it’s a hidden jewel. And I did hear the Lennon tune, forgot to mention it. I liked the little round of applause at the end. Yay, ASMR kick, whispered songs, yay. 😉

Leave a Reply

